Have you ever sent an email and then immediately regretted sending it? Perhaps you spotted a typo or you typed the wrong name in the body of your email message? Maybe you forgot an attachment or committed some other faux paux? No longer do you have to follow up your initial message with an apology. If you’re one of the 350 million people worldwide who use a Gmail account, you can 'Unsend' an email with an interesting—but buried—option in Gmail settings.
To enable the feature, go to Mail Settings in Gmail (upper right corner, under the gear icon). Navigate to the "Labs" tab. In the labs search box, look for "Undo Send" and choose Enable, then save. Now navigate back to Mail Settings. You will see an option to "Undo Send: Send cancellation period: __seconds." Enter the number of seconds that Gmail will allow you to change your mind in the future. You can choose between 5 and 30 seconds.
With this feature enabled, the next time you press Send on an email, a subtle line of text will appear above your inbox saying “Your message has been sent.” You will also see an extra option next to that says “Undo.” Click that within the allotted time that you specified and your message will pulled back so that you can made additional edits.
This feature cannot recall a message that has already been sent, but by enabling the “Unsend” feature you can easily stop a message before it is sent and avoid the regret of an error in your message.
For more tech tips that you can use, be sure to sign up for my newsletter at www.gaeltek.com.